Future Earth Japan National Committee

Future Earth Japan National Committee

Future Earth is an international research platform for global environmental research and sustainability science, aiming at the transformation to a sustainable society. Future Earth promotes the transformation to a sustainable global society through research, innovation, and collaboration with society, with the aim of realizing a sustainable and equitable world.
The Future Earth Japan Committee is the main organization promoting Future Earth activities in Japan, and includes Japanese universities, research institutions, companies, NPOs, and media who support the aims of Future Earth. The Japan Committee is responsible for representing the stakeholders of society, including industry and local communities, in the promotion of Future Earth activities in Japan. In collaboration with the relevant committees of the Science Council of Japan and the Japan Hub of the Future Earth International Secretariat, the Japan Committee aims to contribute to society’s efforts to realize the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) through concrete collaboration between society and academia.
The Future Earth Japan Committee was formed in September 2017 as a developmental reorganization of the Future Earth Japan Consortium, which had been a supporting organization for the Future Earth International Headquarters Secretariat Japan Hub.


Tetsuzo Yasunari
Professor Emeritus,
Research Institute for Humanity and Nature

Yuriko Yamamoto
Secretary General,
AEON Environmental Foundation

Future Earth Japan Committee Participating Organizations    (As of April 2023)

  • Chiba University
  • Chubu University
  • Hokkaido University
  • Hokkaido University of Education (International Regional Studies, Hakodate Campus)
  • Ibaraki University
  • Keio University (Graduate School of Media and Governance)
  • Kochi University of Technology (Research Institute for Future Design)
  • Kyoto University (Future Earth Research Unit)
  • Kyushu University (Institute of Decision Science for a Sustainable Society (IDS3))
  • Mie University (Graduate School & Faculty of Bioresources)
  • Nagoya City University
  • Nagoya University (Future Earth Research Center)
  • National Graduate Institute for Policy Studies (Graduate School of Policy Studies)
  • Network for Education and Research on Peace and Sustainability (NERPS), Hiroshima University
  • School of Tropical Medicine and Global Health, Nagasaki University
  • SDGs Promotion Unit, University of the Ryukyus
  • Tohoku University
  • Tottori University (International Platform for Dryland Research and Education)
  • United Nations University (Institute for the Advanced Study of Sustainability)
  • University of Tokyo (Institute for Future Initiatives)
  • Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA) Earth Observation Research Center (EORC)
  • Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology(JAMSTEC)
  • National Institute for Environmental Studies (NIES)
  • National Museum of Emerging Science and Innovation (Miraikan)
  • Research Institute of Science and Technology for Society (RISTEX)/Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST)
  • Institute for Global Environmental Strategies (IGES)
  • Research Institute for Humanity and Nature(RIHN)
  • AEON Environmental Foundation
  • Kao Corporation
  • LUCKY Fountain
  • Saraya Co.,Ltd
  • Malaria No More Japan
  • 4Revs
  • CSO Network Japan
  • Remote Sensing Technology Center of Japan(RESTEC)
  • Global Compact Network Japan
  • ICLEI Japan
  • Japan Civil Society Network on SDGs
  • SWiTCH Association of Sustainability
  • Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (MEXT) (Environment and Energy Division, Research and Development Bureau)
    Science Council of Japan